Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Great News from My High School

This will not mean much to most but it is a personal day of pride for me and where I went to High School!

Happy to see this after The Blue Waves had The Rutgers Cup stolen from them in 1974 when we had the Best team in Long Island! But The Eastern Suffolk County Schools did not get respect from the Western Suffolk Schools.

The Following Story is from Todays "Newsday"

'Waves' named top team in Suffolk

It was a banner year for the Riverhead football team. Led by Miguel Maysonet -- who won the Hansen Award, given to Suffolk's top player -- the Blue Waves were recognized as the best football team in the county.

By a unanimous vote, Riverhead won the Rutgers Trophy Monday night at the Suffolk County Football Coaches Association dinner at the Hyatt Wind Watch in Hauppauge.

"It's an honor to win the Rutgers Trophy," Riverhead coach Leif Shay said. "These guys deserve it. The players knew we had all the ingredients to win a title and they took the leadership roles and guided the underclassmen. It was a great ride."

"This caps a great season and it recognizes us as family," Riverhead captain Tyler Gilliam said. "The Rutgers Trophy is given to a team, and I emphasize team. This means so much to our program and all the guys who worked so hard this year to make it happen."

After rumbling through Suffolk Division II, Riverhead became the first Long Island team to produce a 12-0 record. Maysonet rushed for 251 yards and scored four touchdowns to lead the Blue Waves to a resounding 42-6 victory over Elmont to capture the school's first L.I. Class II championship, and Riverhead averaged 35 points per game.

Sayville, which finished second in the voting with 66 points, captured the Long Island Class III title with a 13-7 overtime win over Bethpage. The Golden Flashes were 11-1 this season and have won three Long Island titles in the past five years. Connetquot was third in the voting with 47 points and rolled to the Long Island Class I crown with a 21-13 win over Freeport. The Thunderbirds won the title for the first time since 1992.


"The Expert" said...

It has been 34 Years and I still have not let it go.

Lester's Legends said...


"The Expert" said...

Thanks Ryan.